学者:中国两政策性银行应考虑新丝路项目的可持续性

2018年05月21日

为国家承担向“一带一路”项目提供融资的两家国家政策性银行——中国开发银行(“国开行”)和中国进出口银行(“进出口银行”)——越来越多与多边金融机构携手合作。三名来自英国非政府“皇家国际事务研究所”(俗称Chatham House)的研究员呼吁,中国金融机构应着重关注新项目的可持续性。

Alison Hoare、Lan Hong和Jens Hein三人调研了“国开行”和“进出口银行”有关海外投资的政策,发现两行的基建融资包含了向所涉外国政府提供优惠贷款、向在外国运营的中国企业提供贷款,以及投资到私募股权基金。

三人的研究成果载入本月出版、题为《Investors’ Role in Promoting Sustainable Infrastructure under the One Track, One Route” initiative》(“一带一路”倡议下投资者在推动可持续基础建设的角色)的研究报告中。

这些银行可以透过在“一带一路”项目审批上的政策协调,“影响企业如何管理环境风险、如何进行收购”,并“正越来越多地与国际金融机构携手作业”。

在上述研究中,研究员向中国的政策性银行提出一系列建议,特别是鼓励资金提供者(政府)奉行可持续公共采购政策。

作者主张,银行“应清楚列明可持续性作为基建采购项目评标的准则之一”;又称,这模式显示了中国影响政府采购决策的能力。

研报作者又建议多边银行及支持开发的政策性金融机构须要求放贷人就项目中所有高风险供应链的采购,严格按可持续准则办事。

“中(国)-葡(语国家)合作发展基金”董事长迟建新最近在里斯本举行的一个会议上表示,涉及中国与葡语国家的商务项目已开始正式获得“基金”的资金,但在“新丝路时代”,这种合作的深化有赖出台创新的融资机制。

迟建新称,“一带一路”与很多葡语国家的发展规划高度契合,又与资金、技术、资源、市场等高度互补;在中国与这些国家于商业扩张、经济和投资合作等领域刺激新的机遇。

迟建新又说,中国与葡语国家和地区之间的贸易和投资合作也在增加,中国已成为它们最重要的贸易伙伴——2017年中国与这些国家和地区的贸易总额首次突破1,000亿美元大关。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

China Development Bank and China EximBank should consider the sustainability of New Silk Road projects

21 May 2018

The China Development Bank (CDB) and the Export Import Bank of China (EximBank), the central financial vehicles for the “Belt and Road” strategy, are increasingly working with multilateral financial institutions and should strengthen sustainability in the new projects, according to three researchers from non-governmental organisation Chatham House.

In the paper entitled, “The Role of Investors in Promoting Sustainable Infrastructure Under the Belt and Road Initiative,” researchers Alison Hoare, Lan Hong and Jens Hein analysed DBC and Eximbank policies on overseas investment, concluding that their infrastructure finance includes preferential loans to foreign governments, loans and export credits to Chinese companies operating abroad, and investments in private equity funds.

These banks are “able to influence how companies manage environmental risks and carry out acquisitions” and “are working more and more with the international financial institutions” in projects of the ‘Belt and Road’ initiative, seeking to harmonise their policies.”

In the study, released this month, the researchers provide a set of recommendations to China’s investment banks, especially to encourage government creditors to adopt sustainable public procurement.

Banks “should make explicit that sustainability criteria can be considered by government creditors as part of value assessments for infrastructure procurement projects,” they note.

“This model indicates China’s ability to influence government procurement decisions,” they said.

Multilateral banks and development finance institutions are recommended to require creditors to adopt sustainable procurement for all high-risk supply chains in projects.

The chairman of the Cooperation and Development Fund between China and Portuguese-speaking countries said at a recent conference in Lisbon that business projects involving China and Portuguese-speaking countries have been receiving official Chinese funding but that the deepening of this cooperation, in the “era” of the “New Silk Road,” requires innovative financial mechanisms.

Chi Jianxin said that “the Belt and Road is highly compatible with the development plans of many Portuguese-speaking countries and has a strong complementarity in terms of capital, technology, resources, markets, etc., driving new opportunities for commercial expansion, economic and investment cooperation between China and those countries.”

The head of the fund also said that trade and investment cooperation between China and other Portuguese-speaking countries and regions is also increasing, with China becoming one of the most important trade partners with the trade balance in 2017 to exceed US$100 billion for the first time. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH