澳门商人佛得角筹办银行进展顺利

2018年02月05日

据《非洲观察情报》报道,国营佛得角银行(“佛央行”)已收到由澳门商人周锦辉提出创办“佛得角中国-大西洋银行”(BSA)的申请,目前申请正在审核中。

佛央行将决定申请是否符合法例要求、周锦辉是否适当持牌人,以及银行股本的来源等。

《非洲观察情报》称,主宰佛得角银行业的“葡萄牙储蓄总行”对佛得角新增一家中国资本的银行,有强烈保留。该葡资银行控股佛银行业龙头“大西洋商业银行”以及“大西洋两岸银行”(Banco Interatlântico)。

佛得角第二大银行“佛得角经济储蓄银行”的最大股东,为佛得角政府,其第二大股东Geocapital有中资持股,在莫桑比克和几内亚比绍金融界均拥有权益。

《非洲观察情报》又称,BSA将处理周锦辉有意在佛得角开设的赌场的收入。该规划中的赌场位于佛首都普拉亚Santa Maria岛,预计投资额达2.5亿美元。

2017年5月,佛国政府与周锦辉旗下的“励骏环球投资有限公司”就创办BSA一事,签署谅解备忘录。

透过创办该银行,吸引中国资金到西部非洲投资,是佛政府的一项战略目标。

BSA的总部将设于周锦辉正在Santa Maria岛兴建、楼高14层的大楼里。该大楼还将设会议中心、办公室等。按计划,大楼将于2019年下半年竣工。

大楼竣工后,位于Santa Maria岛和Gamboa岛之间的水上赌场酒店,将接着兴建。该后一酒店规划150套房间,将设赌桌、角子机和贵宾厅等博彩设施。

佛得角当局向周锦辉设于Santiago岛的赌场发出25年期的经营权,首15年为独家经营。 (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Macau businessman’s bank in Cabo Verde forges ahead

5 February 2018

The licensing process of Banco Sino-Atlântico (BSA), in Cabo Verde (Cape Verde), by Macau businessman David Chow is underway at the Bank of Cabo Verde (BCV), the banking sector regulator, which has already received all the documentation related to it, the Africa Monitor Intelligence newsletter reported.

The BCV will now determine whether the BSA meets the legal requirements, the suitability of the Macau businessman and the origin of the bank’s starting capital.

The newsletter said that the creation of a Cape Verdean bank with Chinese capital is viewed negatively by the Portuguese-owned banks, which dominate the sector, namely Caixa Geral de Depósitos – which controls the market leader Banco Comercial do Atlântico, as Banco Interatlântico.

Cabo Verde’s second-largest bank, Caixa Económica de Cabo Verde, has Geocapital as its second-largest shareholder, a Chinese-owned holding company with interests in the financial sectors of Mozambique and Guinea-Bissau. The bank’s largest shareholder is the Cape Verdean state.

Africa Monitor Intelligence also said that the BSA will be dealing with money from the casinos that David Chow intends to install in the tourist complex he is building at Ilhéu de Santa Maria in Praia, an investment valued at US$250 million.

In May 2017, the Cape Verdean government signed a memorandum of understanding with Chow’s Legend Globe Investment Company Ltd to create the BSA.

The project, through the bank, plans to attract Chinese capital to operate in West Africa, one of the strategic objectives of the Cape Verdean government.

The headquarters and head office of the BSA will be in the 14-story building that is part of the complex that Chow is building on the island, which is now scheduled to open in late 2019.

The same building, which is already at an advanced stage of construction, will also house a convention centre, online casinos, and offices, said Africa Monitor.

Soon after the completion of the building, work will begin on the construction of the hotel-casino, over the water, between the islet and Gamboa. It has been designed with 150 rooms, as well as the gaming areas, with tables and slot machines and a VIP room for “special” players.

Cabo Verde granted Chow’s company a 25-year gaming concession for the island of Santiago, with 15 years of exclusivity.  (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH