大西洋银行准备好支持葡语国家企业

2019年07月15日

“大西洋银行”(BNU)首席执行官Carlos Cid Álvares称,该行已准备就绪,支持葡语国家企业参与粤港澳大湾区发展。BNU是澳门历史上首家出现的银行。

Álvares是在接受《中葡论坛》访问时,作上述表示。他说,BNU“是一家稳健而稳定的金融机关,具有丰富的中国和葡语国家市场经验和认知”。他举例称,BNU于2017年在横琴开设一家分行,“以更接近我们的客户”。

《中葡论坛》是“中国-葡语国家经贸合作论坛(澳门)”(“中葡论坛”)的机关刊物。

Álvares指出,粤港澳大湾区是一个高度活跃的经济发展区、是中国最富庶的地区之一,也是传统上对外开放的地区。《粤港澳大湾区发展规划》为葡萄牙和其他葡语国家提供了清晰的机遇。

他说:“中国于1980年代设立首批经济特区,其中三个(深圳、珠海、汕头)均位于广东省。这些城市引进了不少外国企业,对该区的经济发展作出了贡献”。

今天的深圳,是全球其中一个技术发展最先进的城市,也是全球创新中心之一,集合了诸如华为、腾讯、中兴、联想、大疆、格力等主要科技品牌。大湾区企业取得的国际专利数目,比法国、英国等国家还多,“预期随着大湾区城市之间的联系更密切,上述发展势头将会更强”。

珠江三角洲(其地理范围大致与大湾区相若)的人口仅占全中国人口的5.0%(约7,000万人),但贡献了全国生产总值的11%、全国出口总值的三分之一。

《规划》由国务院起草,与广州、香港和深圳一道,澳门被纳入大湾区范围内四个中心城市之一,《规划》按各城市的特点,赋予不同的定位和发展方向。

根据《规划》,澳门应抓住“世界旅游休闲中心”和“中国与葡语国家商贸合作服务平台”的定位,加强促进经济多元发展。BNU在当中的优势,是对澳门本土的了解,以及其母公司“葡萄牙储蓄信贷银行”在葡语国家广设业务网点,其中有些网点还是当地市场的翘楚。

Álvares认为:“正是这样,葡萄牙以及其他葡语国家可以很容易通过澳门,走向更广阔、更多元的经济领域,提供鼓励投资的优惠政策,从中得益。”

Álvares指出,在大湾区,擺在葡系企业面前的,有无数被认为是重点发展领域的机遇,包括:基建(运输、能源、电信等)、科研和创新、环保和生态(含都市废物处理)、生物科技、财务及法律专业服务、建筑、工程、物流、教育和人力资源、旅游、卫生、文化和创意工业等等。

Álvares又强调,若葡语国家的企业愿意,它们大可和中国同行合伙,专攻它们有比较优势的市场。

他总结称:“在大湾区,这些企业肯定会有无数商机,它们或者可以发挥‘投资铁三角’(即澳门-中国-葡语国家)的优势,在当地伙伴的协助下进入市场。”(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Banco Nacional Ultramarino well prepared to support companies from Portuguese speaking countries

15 July 2019

Banco Nacional Ultramarino (BNU) is well prepared to participate in the Greater Bay Area project as a business partner of companies in Portuguese-speaking countries and China, said the chief executive director of the first bank ever established in Macau.

Carlos Cid Álvares, in an interview with the Forum Macau newsletter, also said that the bank he currently runs “is a solid, stable financial institution with high level of experience and knowledge in the Chinese and Portuguese-speaking markets,” and noted, for example, the opening of a branch in Hengqin in 2017, “to be closer to its customers.”

The chief executive of the BNU pointed out that the Greater Bay Area project offers clear opportunities for Portugal and other Portuguese-speaking countries, as it is a region with great dynamism, one of the richest in China and with a longstanding tradition of openness to the outside.

“It is important to note that three of China’s first special economic zones were established in Guangdong Province (Shenzhen, Zhuhai and Shantou) in the 1980s, which contributed to the economic development of the region, where numerous foreign companies were set up,” he recalled.

Shenzhen is now one of the most advanced technological development and innovation centre in the world, where large Chinese groups from the sector are installed, including Huawei, Tencent, ZTE, Lenovo, Dajiang, Gree and others. The area has been awarded more international patents than France and the United Kingdom, and “this development is expected to deepen as the relationship between the different cities of the Greater Bay area increases.”

The Pearl River Delta, which is roughly the same as that of the Greater Bay, contains just 5.0% of China’s population, with about 70 million people, “but produces 11.0% of the total wealth of the country and accounts for a third of total exports.”

The implementation of the plan drawn up by China’s central government, which sets Macau as one of the key cities alongside Guangzhou, Hong Kong and Shenzhen, will further promote the development of the Greater Bay by specialising the characteristics of each of them.

Macau will become a World Tourism and Leisure Centre and a Platform for Trade and Services Cooperation between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries, promoting greater diversification of the economy, with the BNU having a role to play, given its knowledge of the local reality and the fact that Portuguese state group Caixa Geral de Depósitos is present in the Portuguese-speaking countries, in a position of market leader in some of them.

“It is precisely in this way that Portugal and other Portuguese-speaking countries can benefit from this integration by having easier access through Macau to a broader and more diversified economic area with preferential policies aimed at encouraging investment,” he said.

Álvares pointed out that these companies will have a world of opportunities in a number of areas that are considered a priority in the Greater Bay Area, namely infrastructure (transport, energy, telecommunications, urban waste management), scientific research and innovation, environmental protection and ecology, biotechnology and professional services in general – financial and legal, architecture, engineering, logistics, education, human resources, tourism, health, cultural and creative industries, among many others.

He noted that companies from Portuguese-speaking countries can, if they wish, position themselves as partners of Chinese companies, in order to work together in certain niche markets in which they have competitive advantages.

“These companies will certainly have a greater range of opportunities in the Greater Bay Area, perhaps with local Chinese partners to support their entry into the market, as well as making use of investment triangulation – Macau/China/Portuguese-speaking countries,” he said. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH