佛得角:非洲葡语国家中经济增长率最高

佛得角在所有葡语非洲国家中录得最高经济增长率;此外,预计莫桑比克在新的一年经济增长将强劲加速,而安哥拉或将回复正增长。

国际货币基金组织(IMF)预测佛国2019年经济增长率将为5%,预计此增速将维持至2020及随后几年;政府在明年的国家预算中假定增长率为5.8%。

根据佛得角国家统计局的报告,受最终消费(增长7.7%)和出口(增11.6%)的驱动,2019年第三季度的经济活动正在加速——GDP增长了6.7%。

佛总理席尔瓦最近说,IMF “对我国的最新评估非常正面——宏观经济框架稳定、经济在增长、债务在减少、赤字在减少、营商环境在改善,但我们必须做更多,做得更好、更快,以实现经济增长7%的目标”,同时要加快落实经济结构改革。

另一方面,尽管几内亚比绍的GDP基数较低,经济却在加速增长(预计2019年的增长率为4.6%)。IMF预测该国经济将以约5%的速度继续增长。

IMF预期圣多美和普林西比2019年的增长率将为2.7%,其后几年的增速将会提升。

预计未来几年非洲葡语国家经济增长动力最大的,是莫桑比克——IMF预测莫国经济从2019年开始加速,2020年实质增长率为5.5%。

根据IMF莫桑比克考察团最近一次对莫考察的最后报告,上述预测,建基于经过飓风后的重建努力,农业有所复苏、货币条件逐步放松,以及偿还欠下国内供应商债款带来对宏观经济的刺激。

IMF的报告说:“建筑和其他经济领域也应受益于大型天然气液化项目的投资;另通胀率应保持低位——到2020年底将温和上升至5(2019年底则为3%)。”

“惠誉智库”(Fitch Solutions)最近提升了对莫国的预测——2019年GDP增长率将为2%、2020年为4.2%,“主要归因于风灾后的重建,以及天然气产业的投资带来的固定资本形成总额的增长”,尽管短期内公共投资仍然有限”。

至于安哥拉,预计2019年将是GDP连续第四年负增长(IMF的数字为负0.3%),但政府和一些机构预计2020年安国经济将重拾升轨——尽管这些预测数字并不完全一致。

IMF预计新一年的经济增长率为1.2%,安政府则预测增长1.8%,但《经济学人》智库(EIU)却预测安国经济明年将收缩1.9%,主要由于石油减产,以及“公共开支和私人消费均收缩,导致政府收入下降”。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Cabo Verde records the greatest economic growth among Portuguese-speaking African countries

Cabo Verde recorded the biggest economic growth among all the Portuguese-speaking African countries, as a new year is about to begin in which Mozambique is expected to see strong economic acceleration and a possible return to growth for Angola.

Projections from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) point to the growth of 5% in 2019, a rate that is expected to continue in 2020 and the following years, while the Cape Verdean government included a growth rate of 5.8% in its State BUdget for next year.

The Cabo Verde National Statistics Institute (INE) reported that economic activity was accelerating – in the third quarter of 2019 there was a 6.7% rise in GDP driven by final consumption (rise of 7.7%) and exports (+11.6%).

The government of Ulisses Correia e Silva aims to increase economic growth, improve the business climate and speed up implementation of structural reforms.

“The note from the Budget Support Group (GAO), in its latest assessment of Cabo Verde, is very positive, the macro-economic framework is stable, the economy is growing, debt is reducing, the deficit is being reduced, the business climate is improving, but we have to do more, do better and faster, so that we can reach growth of 7%,” the minister said recently.

In accelerated expansion, but based on a lower GDP, was Guinea-Bissau, which is expected to grow by 4.6% in 2019, according to the IMF, which forecasts moderate growth acceleration for the Guinean economy, to around 5%.

Sao Tome and Principe is expected to grow by 2.7% in 2019, but IMF projections also point to increased growth in the coming years.

The biggest boost to economic growth in the next few years is expected to happen in Mozambique, with the IMF forecasting acceleration from 2019, to real growth of 5.5% in 2020.

The final statement from the latest IMF mission to Mozambique said that the forecast growth is a result if post-cyclone reconstruction efforts, a recovery in agriculture and the economic stimulus of a gradual easing of monetary conditions and repayment of domestic supplier debts.

“The construction sector and other activities should also benefit from investment in large liquid natural gas projects, and inflation should remain low, with a slight rise to 5.0% at the end of 2020, compared with 3.0% at the end of 2019,” it said.

Fitch Solutions also recently improved its projections for Mozambique, forecasting that GDP would grow by 2% in 2019 and 4.2% in 2020, thanks “to the growth of gross fixed capital formation (…) following post-cyclone reconstruction and investments in the gas sector, despite public investment remaining limited in the short term.”

In Angola, 2019 is expected to be the fourth consecutive year of GDP contraction (-0.3% according to the IMF), but the government and some institutions expect an up-tick in 2020, although the projection is not unanimous.

While the IMF projects growth of 1.2% in the New Year and the Government forecast 1.8%, the Economist Intelligence Unit has forecast a contraction of 1.9% due to a drop in oil production and “drops in government revenues, due to public expenditure and private consumption.”  (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH