中国较前“更敏感于”一带一路国家债务问题

2019年09月02日

美国约翰霍普金斯大学“中非研究所”(CARI)研究员Johanna Malm表示,中国对接受其经援的受惠国之债务问题,“较以前敏感”,尤其是“一带一路”沿綫国家。

Malm在CARI官网发布文章称,中国“已经意识到了问题,并采取了相应措施”。他特别提到今年4月在北京举行的第二届“一带一路”国际合作高峰论坛。

债务可持续性是该次论坛的一个关键议题。官方文件称,中国将致力预防和解决债务相关风险,而中国财政部新近也发布了题为《“一带一路”债务可持续性分析框架》的文件。

Malm表示,中国财政部长刘昆鼓励中国的金融机构、“一带一路”参与国以及国际机构善用上述框架,以改善债务管理。

Malm说,《框架》标志着中国首次以配上英文翻译的官方文件,宣示该国处理债务和发展之间关系的相关政策,从而表明文件是面向西方公众的。

“国际货币基金组织”(IMF)总裁拉加德认为,对中国当局而言,《框架》是“积极的一步”,尽管她强调IMF的官方立场(即“一带一路”倡议所涉基建的融资之批核,应以“绝对必须”为度,且债务方须具偿付能力。

Malm认为这些发展表明,“中国作为发展融资提供者,对国际舆论的压力较前敏感——特别是当那些批评是来自其他发展中国家时”,而且《框架》显示其 “愿意挑战IMF的一贯做法”。

Malm又称:“中国对发展融资的做法反映了其自身作为融资国家的经验。国家发展融资对中国自身的发展起了很好的作用,中国目前正是复制这种模式,向发展中国家提供贷款。”

《框架》与IMF的现行架构形成对比,后者主张“容让中国的银行以商业贷款利率放贷”,好让它们有空间向低收入国家提供优惠融资,同时也没有指出债务是继续放贷的障碍;此外,还透过强调生产性投资,刺激经济增长,“长远而言或可降低债务比率”。

对Malm来说,中国将贷款视为经济增长的催化剂,与IMF为债务设上限的政策相反——若以优惠条件放贷,增长率会更高。

Malm的文章还说,中国和IMF所提供的不同方法,各有利弊。中国在迫切需要投资的国家推动经济增长,而“较为谨慎”的IMF则优先考虑降低债务负担,让国家有机会发展。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

China ‘more sensitive’ to debt issues in Belt and Road countries

2 September 2019

China has been demonstrating “greater sensitivity” to the debt issues of the countries that benefit from its funding, particularly those under the Belt and Road initiative, according to researcher Johanna Malm.

In an article for the Johns Hopkins University China Africa Research Initiative (CARI) website, Malm said that China, “has acknowledged these concerns and adapted some of its practices.,” regarding funding to third countries, notably at the most recent Belt and Road Forum, held in Beijing in April.

Debt sustainability was a key issue at the Forum, with official documents stating that China is committed to preventing and solving debt-related risks, and the Chinese Ministry of Finance published a new document entitled “Debt Sustainability Framework for countries participating in the Belt and Road initiative.”

Chinese Finance Minister Liu Kun has encouraged China’s financial institutions, the Belt and Road signatories and international agencies to use the framework to improve debt management, according to Malm.

“China’s new debt sustainability framework marks the first time the country’s approach to debt and development has been articulated in an official document with an English translation, thus signaling that it is targeted for a Western audience,” said the researcher.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Director-General Christine Lagarde considered the new debt sustainability structure a “positive step” for the Chinese authorities, although she underscored the Fund’s official position that infrastructure financing in the Belt and Road initiative should focus only on what is strictly necessary and in places where debt can be sustained.

These developments, Malm said, show that, “China has grown more sensitive to international pressure around its role as a development finance provider – especially when the critiques emanate from other developing countries,” but also that its new debt sustainability framework demonstrates that “it is willing to challenge the IMF’s approach.”

“China’s approach to development finance reflects the country’s own experience as a borrowing country. State-led development finance worked well for China’s own development and it is this model that China replicates in its lending to developing countries today, ” said the researcher.

The structure now presented contrasts with that of the IMF, which advocates financing on favourable terms for low-income countries, which “leaves space for its banks to lend on commercial rates. This can be compared to the IMF’s debt limits policy, which advocates for financing on fully concessional terms to low-income countries,” nor does it point to debt as an obstacle to continued lending, in addition to stressing that productive investment, by stimulating economic growth, may “lead to lower debt ratios over time.”

According to Malm, China sees lending as a catalyst for economic growth, in contrast to the IMF’s debt capping policy, where growth is higher if loans are granted on favourable terms.

Different approaches from China and the IMF, it adds, have different benefits and drawbacks, with China boosting growth in countries in urgent need of investment and the “more cautious” IMF prioritising lower debt burdens for developing countries. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH