中国向安哥拉提供信贷以支持该国中央政府财政需要

2018年07月16日

据“国际货币基金组织”(IMF)称,中国的银行向安哥拉提供的信贷,将支持安国今年的国家预算。该预算将透露安国在多个层次的政策转变。

IMF在其最新一期有关安哥拉的报告中指出,安哥拉2018年的财政需要“规模不小”,但“基于外部环境良好,他们看来可以驾驭”。

据IMF称,融资需要将由国内信贷支持,但同时须依靠国外支援,包括来自中国和其他双边信贷伙伴、诸如世界银行和非洲开发银行等多边机构、商业银行的信贷;此外,安政府还发行规模达20亿美元的外币债券。

IMF的报告称,与公共投资项目相关的外币融资“大部分已有把握落实”,但由于国内商业银行一般已经接近它们的主权风险中的国内放款上限,故“相當程度依頼国内银行提供融资的项目或有融资困难”。

IMF又称,或許有需要考虑“最大限度地满足市场的胃口”(发行更多债券),因为“这样有助中央财政来源多元化,纾解对国内债券市场的压力,以及延长公债的到期日”。

IMF等国际机构认为安哥拉国民议会批准的2018年国家要预算“谨慎”,而安国希望将非石油国家预算的目标设定在相当于GDP的2%。

IMF在报告中强调,自2017年大选以来,安国总统洛伦索的政府“已开始落实
旨在恢复宏观经济稳定和改善政府管治的政策”,包括打击贪腐。

安哥拉经济深受2014年中开始的国际油价急跌,由于国家采取汇率政策,到了当年8月大选时,已“对国家预算和外汇储备造成更大的损害”。

根据IMF报告的数字,安国2017年整体预算赤字上升到相当于GDP的6%、公债(包括安哥拉国家石油公司欠下的公债)达到相当于GDP的64%、国际储备总量下跌至相当于六个月的进口量,而外汇黑市价与官价的差已攀升至150%。

新政府今年1月初推行宏观经济稳定计划。计划包括财政巩固、较大的外汇弹性、中期而言负债-GDP比率下降60%等;此外,还通过对债负的管理、延迟旅行国内支付,以及有效推行反洗钱法律,改善债务状况。

据IMF称,“结构改革正确地指向推进私营经济部门的增长”,而新政府正努力协调,改善营商环境。

报告中突出介绍的各项新措施中,有出口多元化和进口替代策略的计划、旨在结束“在诸如电讯和水泥生产等关键行业的垄断行为”的《竞争法》,以“移除外国直接投资障碍”。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Chinese credit supports Angolan State financing needs

16 July 2018

Credit granted by Chinese banks will support the financing needs of the Angolan State Budget for this year, which should signal a multi-level policy shift for the country, according to the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The IMF considers in its latest report on Angola that the financing needs of the Angolan state are “substantial” in 2018, but that “they seem to be manageable given the benign external environment.”

Funding needs, according to the IMF, will be met by domestic credit, but also “by external sources, including China and other bilateral creditors, multilateral institutions, such as the World Bank and African Development Bank, commercial banks, and issues of foreign currency bonds worth US$2 billion.”

External financing linked to public investment projects is “mostly secured,” but the greater reliance on domestic bank financing, “may be difficult to achieve as commercial banks report being close to their limits of domestic exposure to sovereign risk,” said the report.

The IMF added that it may be necessary to consider “exploiting the appetite” of the markets for more bond issues, which “would help further diversify the mix of sources of finance, ease the pressure on domestic debt markets and increase public debt maturity.”

The National Assembly approved a budget for 2018 considered prudent by the IMF and other international institutions, aiming at an improvement in the primary non-oil budget balance of 2% of GDP.

In the report, the IMF stresses that since the election in 2017, the government of President João Lourenço, “has started to implement policies aimed at restoring macroeconomic stability and improve governance,” including the fight against corruption.

Hit hard by the sharp fall in oil prices that began in mid-2014, the Angolan economy suffered, “an even greater erosion of budgetary and external buffers,” before the August 2017 elections due to the fixed exchange rate policy followed until then.

The overall budget deficit increased to 6% of GDP and public debt, including state oil company Sonangol, reached 64% of GDP in 2017, while gross international reserves fell to the equivalent of six months of imports and the difference between the black market and the official exchange rate rose to 150% in 2017, noted the IMF.

The new government launched a macroeconomic stabilisation programme in early January, which foresees fiscal consolidation, greater exchange rate flexibility, a 60% reduction in the debt-to-GDP ratio over the medium term, improved debt profile through the management of liabilities, settlement of arrears of domestic payments and effective enforcement of anti-money laundering legislation.

According to the IMF, “structural reforms are properly aimed at promoting private sector growth,” while the new government is making concerted efforts to improve the business environment.

Among the new measures highlighted in the report is a programme to diversify exports and replace imports, the Competition Law, which aims to end “monopolistic practices in key sectors such as telecommunications and cement production,” and the Private Investment Law, “which eliminates barriers to foreign direct investment.” (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH