佛得角政府首务之一:促进经济多元发展

2018年02月21日

葡萄牙“葡萄牙投资和贸易促进局”(AICEP)官网“Portugal Global”最近(1月)报道,佛得角政府锐意吸引更多外来投资,特别是基建领域,以改善营商环境、开发新兴经济体市场,因此,经济多元发展,在佛政府工作优次序中,排在前列。

AICEP在报道中指出,佛得角经济走势上扬——增长率从2015年的3.9%上升至2017年的4.6%。据预测,今年(2018)将见增幅放缓,但仍保持超过4%的速率。

AICEP Portugal Global称:“佛得角在贸易、旅游、外来投资和侨民汇款等方面,都深度与欧元挂钩,欧元区2017年的经济增长将放缓,国内服务业也将受连带影响,而服务业是佛国经济的火车头。”

旅游业是佛国的主要产业,然而,无论在生产基础还是在市场开发方面,佛国经济多元发展仍按规划进行。

AICEP Portugal Global续称:“按照佛国政府的政策,将继续把发展基建、利用好公共投资和外来投资、改善公营部门的效率,以及降低失业率等,列为政府工作的首务。”

AICEP称:“整个营商环境的改革,同樣重要,长远而言,经济多元發展,意味着不能单单依赖旅游业,以减低面对外部环境的冲击,以及减少受单一外来因素(例如与欧元深度挂钩)影响,寻求与新兴经济体的市场(特别是非洲)合作。”

根据“国际贸易中心”(ITC,“联合国”和“世贸”共同设立的合作机构)的数字,在首五位对安哥拉出口国中,中国是唯一的非欧盟国家,占安国进口货值的4.1%。

葡萄牙居对安出口名单榜首,占比超过50%,其余欧盟国家分别是:西班牙、葡萄牙和意大利。

安国的主要出口客户,也来自欧盟国家:西班牙、葡萄牙和意大利是安国出口(商品和服务)最大的进口国——旅游业是佛国的主要产业。

海洋项目在佛国经济多元化战略中占核心地位,特别是在未来的“圣文森岛海洋经济特区”,那是该国首个同类经济特区,其创立获中国资金支持。

佛得角总理席尔瓦在中国大使陪同下访问了圣文森岛。他说,该综合项目为海洋运输、港口营运、渔业、特殊物流支援服务、旅游,以及海洋相关的科技及专门教育,提供了发展空间。

目前,一个由政府制定的项目可行性研究正在进行中,目标是在本届国民议会会期结束(距今略多于三年)前完成。

佛国海洋经济部部长José Gonçalves联同旅游和运输部官员最近陪同一个来自中国的商务考察团到访圣文森岛。Gonçalves在结束考察时称,中国代表团成员、“山东高速集团”的代表对参与海洋经济特区的发展“极感兴趣”。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Economic diversification is a priority for Cabo Verde

21 February 2018

The diversification of the Cabo Verdean economy is high on the list of priorities for the archipelago’s government, which intends to attract more investment, especially for infrastructure, to improve the business environment and to open up to emerging economies, Portuguese trade and investment promotion agency AICEP Portugal Global said recently.

The Portuguese agency responsible for investment and foreign trade in a document published in January noted that the Cabo Verdean economy is on a growth trajectory from 1.1% in 2015 to 3.9% in 2016 and 4.6% in 2017, with forecasts pointing to a slight slowdown this year, but maintaining a growth rate of more than 4.0%.

“The performance of the Euro Zone – on which Cabo Verde is heavily dependent in the areas of trade, tourism, foreign investment and emigrant remittances – will slow down compared to 2017, which will lead to lower growth in the services sector, the main driver of the Cabo Verdean economy,” said Aicep Portugal Global.

However, the diversification of the Cabo Verdean economy remains on course in terms of production base and markets.

“The policy of the Cabo Verdean government will continue to prioritise infrastructure development, using public investment and foreign investment flows, improving the efficiency of the public sector and combating unemployment,” it said.

“No less important will be the reform of the entire business environment, in the long term, the diversification of an economy that is dependent on the tourism sector, reducing its exposure to the external environment and making it less dependent on the outside, in particular on the Eurozone, seeking to establish partnerships with emerging markets, especially in Africa,” AICEP said.

Data from the International Trade Center showed that China is the only one of the country’s top five suppliers from outside the EU, with a share of 4.1% of imports, on a list led by Portugal with more than 50%.

The country’s main export customers are also from the European Union – Spain, Portugal, and Italy are the largest importers of goods and services from Cabo Verde, where tourism is the driver of the economy.

Marine projects are central to the strategy of economic diversification, in particular, the future São Vicente Special Economic Area of the Sea (ZEEM), the first facility of its kind focused on the sea, created with the support of China.

On a recent visit to the island, accompanied by the ambassador of China, the Cabo Verdean Prime Minister, Ulisses Correia e Silva, said the integrated project provides for maritime transport, port operations, fishing, specialised logistics support services as well as tourism, science and specialised education in the sea sector.

The project’s feasibility study is being prepared, he said, based on the government’s term of office, within just over three years.

The Ministry of the Maritime Economy of Cabo Verde is headquartered in the city of Mindelo, the city with the largest population on the island of São Vicente.

José Gonçalves,the minister in charge of the Ministry of the Maritime Economy – based in Sao Vicente – and the Ministry of Tourism and Transport in the capital, recently accompanied a visit by a business delegation from China to the island, saying at the end that the representatives of the Chinese company Shandong Hi-Speed Group Co. expressed “enormous interest” in participating in the development of the ZEEM. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH