莫桑比克经济在复苏中

2017年08月28日

经历了2016年的困难后,莫桑比克经济正显现复苏的迹象,表现为经济增速加快、莫国货币升值中、国际收支储备回复以往水平。

根据世界银行最近发表题为《莫桑比克经济最新情况》的报告,经历了2016年经济放缓、(莫国货币)梅蒂卡尔贬值,以及物价水平上涨,“2017年早段显现了改善的迹象”。

除一季度末的GDP增长率达2.9%外,由于“货币政策带来强大反应……有助通胀率逐渐舒缓”,梅蒂卡尔兑美元九个月以来也上升了28%。
商品(特别是煤)价格回升,助力出口货值上升,增加外汇流入,从而提升国际收支储备的水平。

世银的上述报告称:“煤、铝、燃气价格的走强,厄尔尼诺风暴过后农业生产的回复,以及和平谈判的进展,合起来可为2017年带来4.6%的经济增长,甚至达到2020年末的7%。

然而,世界银行警告莫国经济将面对一些挑战,包括商品价格水平和目前仍偏高的通胀率均可能波动;参考借贷利率“是撒哈拉以南非洲其中一个最高的经济体”;平均商业银行借贷利率(约30%)“高至大部分私营企业难以营商”。

另一主要挑战,是预算政策和重组债务的需要。目前的债务水平可说“不可持续”。
经济恢复的希望主要落在北部鲁尔玛盆地液化天然气项目身上。迄今,已有大型投资注入该盆地。

由意大利埃尼集团牵头、成员包括中国石油化工的财团6月1日就鲁尔玛盆地4号区块液化天然气项目达成“最终投资决定”(FID),预期项目于2022年投产。

莫政府希望由美国Anadarko石油集团牵头的1号区块于今年底达成FID。
《经济学人》智库(EIU)表示,“受到几乎整个矿产资源部门驱动”,莫国2017年经济增长率可达4.2%。

EIU在其有关莫国经济的最新报告中指出:“受到国际市场价格趋升、(莫国的主要出口目的国)印度的需求强劲,以及最近矿企锐意改善生产效率等因素驱动,该国煤炭产业将见快速增长”。

但EIU不忘警告:尽管预期2018至2021年年均经济增长率可达5.3%,但“紧缩预算、流动性收缩,以及高通胀,会扼杀国内需求;政局不稳,可延长投资下降的趋势”。

《非洲观察情报》也表示,上升的出口货值,特别是(诸如煤和铝等的)资源开采业、国际融资(主要来自世界银行),以及正进行中主要能源领域投资的成果,“都是最近将来足以振兴梅蒂卡尔的币值、恢复对经济的信心的若干决定性因素”。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Mozambique’s economy on the road to recovery

28 August 2017

The Mozambican economy has been showing signs of revival, with the economy accelerating, the currency gaining value and international reserves being restored after a difficult year in 2016, analysts indicate.

The World Bank stated in its recent “Mozambique Economic Update” study that since the slowdown, metical depreciation and inflation in year 2016, “early trends in 2017 show signs of improvement”.

Besides acceleration of the gross domestic product growth rate in the first quarter to 2.9 percent, the metical strengthened by 28 percent in the first nine months compared to the US dollar, due to “strong monetary policy response” which “also helped inflation to slowly begin easing”.

Improved exports, driven by the recovery of commodity prices, particularly coal, also increased the intake of currencies, thereby enabling recovery of international reserves.

“Strengthening prices for coal, aluminium and gas, a post El Niño recovery in agriculture, and progress in peace talks, could steer growth to 4.6 percent in 2017, and towards 7 percent by the end of the decade,” the World Bank asserts.

The international financial institution also warned of some challenges, such as possible fluctuations in commodity prices and inflation levels that are still high, a reference lending rate “among the highest in sub-Saharan Africa” and average commercial bank lending rates (around 30 percent) “prohibitively high for much of the private sector”.

Another key challenge, it states, is budget policy and the need to restructure debt, which is currently “unsustainable”.

Expectations for economic revival rest largely on liquid natural gas projects for the Rovuma Basin in the north, involving large-scale investments.

The Italian group ENI, leader of an international consortium that includes the China National Petroleum Corporation Group, reached a final investment decision (FID) on 1 June for the LNG project in the area 4 bloc of the Rovuma Basin, which should begin producing in 2022.

The Mozambican government hopes that the other consortium (area 1) operating in the Rovuma Basin, led by the US group Anadarko Petroleum, will make its FID by the end of the year.

The Economist Intelligence Unit has stated that the Mozambican economy should grow 4.2 percent in 2017, “driven almost entirely by the mineral sector.”

“The coal industry will expand quickly, driven by stronger international prices, robust demand in India (Mozambique’s main export market) and recent efforts of mining companies to increase efficiency,” the EIU indicated in its latest report on the country.

It nevertheless warns that “budget austerity, tight liquidity conditions and high inflation will smother domestic demand and political uncertainty will prolong the decline in investment,” even though growth is accelerating to an average of 5.3 percent from 2018 to 2021.

Africa Monitor Intelligence has also stated that increased exports, especially by extractive industries (coal and aluminium), international financing (largely from the World Bank) and the effect of major ongoing investments in the energy sector, “have been decisive recent factors to boost the metical’s value and restore confidence in the economy”. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH