美国学者:中国对安哥拉的资助是“透明”的典范

2019年06月03日

据美国研究人员Deborah Bräutigam称,中国向非洲国家提供的资助是互利互惠的,中国对安哥拉提供资金的模式是“透明”的典范。

Bräutigam是美国约翰霍普金斯大学(Johns Hopkins University)政治经济学教授、高级国际研究院“中国-非洲研究计划”总监,是研究中国对非经援方面的翘楚。

Bräutigam最近接受布鲁金斯学会(Brookings Institution)访问时称,对于像安哥拉、苏丹或加纳等国家,透过向中国提供天然资源换取中国信贷,所支付的息率较低,因此,这种援助模式,如中方说的,是“互惠互利”的。

据Bräutigam称,安哥拉累计已吸纳超过300亿美元的中国资金。由于这些经援的背后有石油支撑,“中国可以知道贷予安国的资金如何运用,因为安财政部很透明——把所有受助项目都放到官网”。

Bräutigam认为,这种经援模式较美国模式强,因为美国仅向安哥拉直接支付石油货款,无从了解安国得款后如何运用。

反观中国,“我们可以看到所有以石油担保的贷款都已见到成效,都是支付安国国内的基建开支….这个主意不错”,因为至少安国将相当一部分石油收益用于发展项目——尽管这对安政府而言是一种限制。

Bräutigam不同意中国政府是利用上述资助模式,试图对受援方施加政治影响的说法。她说:“安哥拉是接受中国贷款最多的(非洲)国家,当中我们看不见中国施加了什么特殊的战略(军事的或政治的)影响。”

Bräutigam说:“我相信中国进出口银行迄今已向1,800个‘一带一路’项目提供资助,若说这些贷款是企图从中得到什么影响力,似乎太牵强。”

出席第二届“中非合作论坛”的非洲国家中,参加“一带一路”倡议的增加至37个。Bräutigam说,这反映了这些国家积极维持和拓展与中国的关系。 (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Chinese funding to Angola is an example of “transparency”, says US researcher

3 June 2019

Funding from China to African countries has provided mutual benefits, with Angola being an example of “transparency” in the granting of capital, said US researcher Deborah Bräutigam.

The researcher said in a recent interview with the Brookings Institution that for countries like Angola, Sudan and Ghana, which have been granted Chinese credit in return for natural resources, these guarantees allow for lower interest rates and this is, therefore, a model that “can work, as the Chinese say, in a relationship of mutual gain.”

In Angola, which, according to Bräutigam, has already received funding of over US$30 billion from China, backed by oil, it is possible to “know what happens to Chinese loans, because the Ministry of Finance is actually transparent,” publishing “lists of all these projects on its website”

The researcher, who has researches Chinese loans in Africa, added that this situation contrasts favourably with the relationship, for example, with the United States, which pays directly for all the oil it buys from Angola, so it is not possible to know what happens to the money.”

In the case of China, she says, “we can see that all these oil-backed loans are seeing a return and are paying for infrastructure built in Angola,” which “is not a bad idea,” as it is a restriction to the Angolan government, because it applies part of its oil revenues to development projects.

Professor of Political Economy and director of the China Africa Research Initiative at the School of Advanced International Studies of Johns Hopkins University, Bräutigam denies the idea that the funding is leveraged by the Chinese government to gain political influence.

“Angola is the country that has received the most loans from China (in Africa) and, once again, we do not see any particular strategic, military or political influence that China is taking from these loans,” she said.

“I believe that the China Export and Import Bank has so far provided funding for 1,800 ‘Belt and Road’ projects, so trying to coordinate this as a sort of conspiracy to borrow from these countries and then use that debt to gain influence seems to be a bit far-fetched,” she said.

At the 2nd Forum for China-Africa Cooperation, the number of African countries joining the “Belt and Road” initiative has increased to 37, with Bräutigam stating that this decision is due to the countries’ interest in maintaining and extending ties with China. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH