华为集团将4G和5G带到佛得角和莫桑比克

2019年09月23日

全球最大网络和电信设备提供商、中国的“华为”集团参与了莫桑比克和佛得角第四和第五代(4G和5G)移动网络技术的推出,预料将有助促进两国的经济发展。

佛得角“跨产业经济监管局”(ARME)主席Isaías Barreto上周宣布,佛国将就采用5G电信网络技术进行“推行试点”。该局正推动4G网络的铺展,并向参与的运营商——“佛得角移动”(CV Mobile)和Unitel T + ——颁发频率使用权证书。

他说:“5G网络肯定还会带来显着的带宽改进、更高透明度、其速度比4G快达100倍。”又说,ARME正研究在佛得角哪个岛上进行5G试点。

去年7月,佛得角成为第一个与“华为”合办5G会议的西非国家,会议组织方是作为“华为”合作伙伴的ARME。

Barreto在会上表示,ARME正与“华为”合作进行一项研究,其结果可望提供“重要线索”,为佛国技术发展的前景指明方向。

佛得角副总理兼财政部长Olavo Correia表示,佛得角希望跻身非洲首批引入5G技术的国家。

Correia解释称,与“华为”达成中期战略协议,让佛国成为跻身数字国家行列,分阶段、循序渐进地引入5G的好处;但他不忘指出佛国工人未有相应的训练和资格,应付工作要求。

Correia说:“这是国家所需的改变:技术使速度、普及度、效率和管理透明成为可能,而政府希望佛得角成为一个数字国家。”

ARME的数据表明,4G的技术将容许带宽大幅提高,甚至可比3G快500倍,支持高清互联网和移动电视、高质量视频通话和更快的浏览速度。

在莫桑比克,莫国电信提供商“莫桑比克移动”相中“华为”为首选合作伙伴和供应商,双方于2018年底签署谅解备忘录,使莫国可以享用最先进的LTE 4G和5G通信网络技术。

该谅解备忘录由TDM-mcel主席Mahomed Rafique Jusob和“华为”主席在北京举行与“中国-非洲合作论坛”同步举行的“中莫友好合作研讨会”期间签署。

当时,Jusob表示,该文件是“莫桑比克电信业重振和发展战略框架下,技术转型和拓展方面的重要一步”。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Huawei Group takes 4G and 5G to Cabo Verde and Mozambique

23 September 2019

Chinese telecommunications group Huawei is involved in the launch of 4G and 5G mobile network technologies in Mozambique and Cabo Verde, which are expected to help boost the economies of both countries.

The chairman of Cabo Verde’s Multisector Economic Regulatory Agency (ARME), Isaías Barreto, announced last week that the archipelago will conduct a “pilot experiment” with 5G technology at the launch of the fourth-generation network (4G) and delivery of frequency usage rights certificates to both operators (CV Mobile and Unitel T+).

“5G networks will certainly also bring substantial bandwidth improvements, lower latency, with up to 100 times the speed of fourth-generation networks,” he said.

ARME, he said, is analysing on which Cape Verdean island this 5G pilot experiment will be conducted.

In July Cabo Verde became the first West African country to hold a conference on fifth-generation networks (5G), also organised by ARME in partnership with the Huawei group.

Barreto said at the time that ARME was conducting a study, in partnership with the Chinese group, that would give “important clues” and provide a “clearer view” on what technology should look like in Cabo Verde.

Cape Verdean Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Olavo Correia said on the occasion that Cabo Verde wants to be among the first countries in Africa to introduce 5G technology.

Justifying the establishment of a medium-term strategic agreement with the Huawei group to make Cabo Verde a digital nation and to introduce 5G in the archipelago, in a phased, scheduled and progressive manner, Correia pointed to the lack of qualifications of the country’s workers in that area.

“This is the change the country needs. Speed, service proximity, efficiency and management transparency that this technology will allow. And we, the Government, want to make Cabo Verde a digital nation,” he said.

ARME data shows that 4G technology will allow for substantial bandwidth improvement, in some cases 500 times faster than 3G, enabling high definition Internet and mobile telephony, high-quality video calling and faster browsing.

In Mozambique, Huawei, the world’s largest provider of network and telecommunications equipment, at the end of 2018 signed a memorandum of understanding with Mozambique Celular to be the Mozambican operator’s preferred partner and supplier, enabling modernisation of services with the use of state-of-the-art LTE 4G and 5G technology.

The agreement was signed by TDM-mcel chairman Mahomed Rafique Jusob and his Huawei counterpart during the China-Mozambique Seminar in Beijing, held at the same time as the China-Africa Cooperation Forum.

At the time, TDM-mcel’s chairman said the agreement is “an important step in the context of technological transformation and expansion, within the profit and development strategy of the telecommunications sector in Mozambique.” (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH