联合国最不发达国家名单剔除安哥拉和圣普

根据联合国出版的《2020年世界经济形势与展望》,该组织预期将把安哥拉、圣多美和普林西比(“圣普”)等国从最不发达国家名单中剔除。

《展望》称,安哥拉应自2021年起,不再被视为最不发达国家之一,并有望“从近年来经济显著停滞的状况中恢复过来”。至于圣普(以及所罗门群岛),预期将于2024年从最不发达国家名单中除名。

根据《展望》,联合国预计2020年安哥拉经济将维持负增长(负1%),有别于安国政府在今年的国家预算提出的(正)1.8%。但《展望》预期该国明年有望实现正增长(增速为1.5%)。

《展望》说:“由于石油产量下降、吸引外国投资有困难,安哥拉经济衰退将(于2020年内)持续,GDP要到2021年才回复正增长——尽管按人均计,
(今年)将见连续第七年收缩。”

《展望》警告,由于不少非洲国家对外主权债券发行量增加,这些国家的债务不断增加,造成“对某些国家的债务是否可持续的担忧,而这种担忧可能会因国内外种种冲击(包括国家预算管理的偏差)而加剧”。

《展望》又称:“南部非洲一些国家所面对的经济困局,或将导致安哥拉、纳米比亚和津巴布韦等国陷入更持久衰退。”

《展望》预期大多数葡语国家的经济将加速增长——几内亚比绍从2020年的4.6%增至2021年的5.2%、圣普则从3.5%增至4.6%。

预期2020、2021年佛得角的经济增长率将为4.6%。至于莫桑比克,由于油气勘采资金的投入,预计莫桑比克经济今年将增长5.5%、明年则为6%(增速为南部非洲国家中最高)。

上述投资规模“持续扩大,已从2014-2016年期间石油价格下跌时的低产量中恢复过来”。莫桑比克是其中一个“近期发现新油气资源并寻求加以开发”的国家。

然而,联合国提示要注意莫桑比克债务管理固有的风险(该国的债务规模是非洲大陆最高之一)。

《展望》透露,公债债台高筑,对若干非洲国家而言是个挑战,掣肘了实施逆周期政策和社会包容政策的能力——佛得角、刚果、吉布提、厄立特里亚、莫桑比克和苏丹等国的公债水平已超越各该国家GDP的100%。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

UN removes Angola and São Tomé and Principe from the group of least developed countries

The United Nations (UN) expects to remove Angola and São Tomé and Principe from the group of least developed countries (LDCs), according to the World Economic Outlook report.

The document said that Angola should no longer be considered an LDC in 2021, and it is expected to “recover from the huge decelerations experienced in the last few years,” and São Tomé and Príncipe in 2024, along with the Solomon Islands.

For Angola, the UN forecasts a continued recession in 2020 (-1%), unlike the Angolan Government which included a growth rate of 1.8% in the State Budget for this year, but next year should be one of growth (1.5%), according to the UN report.

“The economic downturn in Angola should continue (in 2020), due to the drop in oil production and the difficulties in attracting foreign investment. It is expected that GDP growth will move into the black only in 2021, although in per capita terms it will continue to contract for the seventh consecutive year,” said the UN.

The report warns of rising debt in many African countries, due to the increase in external issues of sovereign bonds, creating “concerns about the sustainability of debt in some countries, which could be exacerbated by external or domestic shocks, including deviations in budgetary management.”

“There is a high risk that difficult economic conditions in some countries in Africa may lead to more protracted recessions in Angola, Namibia and Zimbabwe,” it added.

The UN forecasts an acceleration of growth in most Portuguese-speaking countries – from 4.6% in 2020 to 5.2% in 2021 in Guinea Bissau and from 3.5% to 4.6% in São Tomé and Príncipe.

Cabo Verde is expected to grow by 4.6% in 2020 and 2021, while Mozambique should boost growth to 5.5% this year and 6% next year, the highest rate in Africa, due to investment in oil and gas exploration.

This investment, “continues to expand, recovering from a drop that coincided with the fall in oil prices during the 2014-2016 period,” and Mozambique is among the countries that “have recently discovered new fossil fuel resources and is seeking to make the most of their potential revenue”.

However, the UN warned of the inherent risks in the management of Mozambican debt, the highest in Africa.

“A high level of public debt is a challenge in many African countries, limiting the capacity to implement anti-cyclical and socially inclusive policies. The levels of public debt exceed 100% of GDP in countries such as Cabo Verde, Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Mozambique and Sudan,” said the report. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH