莫桑比克天然气产业前景好转

2018年03月05日

近数周以来,莫桑比克与中国签署天然气出口协议,以及批准由美国“Anadarko石油”牵头的鲁尔玛盆地1号区块开发项目,一下子改善了莫国天然气产业的前景。

据《经济学人》智库(EIU)有关莫桑比克的最新报告称,莫国国内对经济前景“有较大信心”(特别是天然气项目预计于2020/2022年投产),分析师纷纷上调对莫国的经济增长、投资和出口等数字的预测。

EIU称:“安国政府批准项目后,Anadarko石油面对一个主要问题:以什么方式利用所开采的天然气才最符合成本效益。”

据国际货币基金组织(IMF)估算,若一切如规划进行,提炼液化天然气的头25年,莫国政府可得税金300亿美元,届时将占GDP的约50%。

EIU指出,由于能源市场高度不稳定、预测中对一些项目细节忽略不计,上述预测存在重大不确定性;此外,合约上对投资者而言收回成本的保证,将影响及投产初期的税务贡献——不管这对整体经济的影响如何。

EIU认为,莫国政府有关1号区块项目于2022/2023年启动的目标,有点“雄心太大”,若把目标定在2025年,则较有可能现实。

“然而”,EIU说:“如此规模的投资,对备受困扰的莫国经济而言非常重要…… Anadarko持续对项目发展给予支持,是投下信心一票,也让债权人和投资者对莫国的长远前景放心。”

Anadarko在财团中占股26.5%,其余股东有:莫国“ENH鲁尔玛1号区块”(占股15%)、日本“三井勘采莫桑比克1号区块”(20%)、印度“ONGC Videsh”(10%)、“Beas鲁尔玛1号区块莫桑比克”(10%)、“BPRL风投莫桑比克BV (10%)”,以及泰国“PPT勘采莫桑比克1号区块”(8.5%)。

Anadarko集团于今年2月与“法国电力”(EDF)达成协议,于15年合约期內,每年向后者出售120万吨液化天然气。

据《非洲观察情报》最近引述接近项目的消息来源报道,规划中1号区块的未来产出中,目前只有40%找到买家。

《非洲观察情报》说:“由于不太可能在完全商定未来的销售安排才签署最终投资决定,Anadarko有可能将作出确定投资的限期推延至2018年底。”

Anadarko在2月的最后一个星期宣布,集团正与若干家印度公营和私营财团洽售液化天然气,例如“Petronet液化天然气”、“石油及天然气公司”、“”Hindustan石油”、“Bharat石油” 、“Petronet国家石油公司”等。

Anadarko称:“莫桑比克处于航运要冲,位置优越,非常有利于对亚太市场顾客的需求作出回应,特别是深挖中国对能源需求日增所提供的商机。”(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Outlook improves for the natural gas industry in Mozambique

5 March 2018

The signing of new contracts for the sale of Mozambican natural gas, namely to China, as well as the government approval of the Area 1 project led by US group Anadarko Petroleum, have improved the outlook for this industry in Mozambique in recent weeks.

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) said in its latest report on the Mozambican economy that “greater confidence” in the country, especially from 2020/22, related to the outlook for natural gas, led to an upward review of forecasts for growth, investment, and exports.

“With the approval by the government [of the Anadarko project] there is a major obstacle to the development of what can be an economically transformative project for Mozambique,” said the EIU.

In the first 25 years of liquefied natural gas (LNG) production, according to IMF calculations, the government is expected to take US$30 billion in revenues from this sector, which will account for around 50% of the country’s GDP if all planned projects go into operation.

The EIU pointed out that these forecasts are subject to significant uncertainty due to the volatility of energy markets and the fact that the details of the project are not known. The EIU also expects that cost recovery guarantees for investors will reduce the tax contribution in the early years of production, regardless of the impact on the economy as a whole.

The Government’s aim for Area 1 gas extraction to begin in 2022-23 is “ambitious” according to the EIU, and is more likely to occur only in 2025, as sale and financing contract is still under negotiation.

“However, an investment of this scale is of great importance to Mozambique’s troubled economy (…) Anadarko’s ongoing commitment to project development is a vote of confidence that will reassure lenders and investors about the country’s prospects in the long run,” it said.

Anadarko’s share is 26.5% in the consortium, which also includes ENH Rovuma Area 1 (15%), Mitsui E&P Mozambique Area1 Ltd. (20%), ONGC Videsh Ltd. (10%), Beas Rovuma Energy Mozambique Limited (10%), BPRL Ventures Mozambique BV (10%), and PTTEP Mozambique Area 1 Limited (8.5%).

The Anadarko group reached an agreement with Electricité de France (EDF) in February to sell 1.2 million tons of LNG per year over a 15-year period.

The Africa Monitor Intelligence newsletter recently wrote, citing sources close to this project, that only 40% of forecast production capacity for the Area 1 block has been sold.

“Given the unlikelihood of signing the final investment decision before the full sale of production is secured, the possibility of Anadarko not confirming its investment before the end of 2018 is bolstered,” Africa Monitor Intelligence reported.

In the last week of February the US group announced that it was negotiating the sale of LNG to a number of Indian companies, including public and independent LNG buyers, such as Petronet LNG, Oil and Natural Gas Corp., Hindustan Petroleum Corp. Ltd, Bharat Petroleum Corp. Ltd, and Gujarat State Petroleum Corp, among others.

“The central and favourable geographic location of Mozambique means that the country is well positioned to respond to the needs of customers in the Asian and Pacific markets, in particular by leveraging the growth in demand for energy in China,” said Anadarko. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH