中国“一带一路”将连接莫桑比克、安哥拉、圣普三国港口

“非洲战略研究中心”研究员Paul Nantulya认为,莫桑比克、安哥拉、圣多美和普林西比(“圣普”)三国的港口将由中国的“一带一路”倡议连接在一起,其“中枢”将出现于东部非洲。

Nantulya认为,上述中枢将由“规划中的或已在运作的港口、管道、铁路,以及由中国企业或金融机构提供融资兴建的电站”连接起来。

2017年建成通车、连通肯尼亚蒙巴萨和首都内罗毕的“蒙内铁路”,以及连通埃塞俄比亚首都亚的斯亚贝巴和非洲东北部国家吉布提的电气化铁路,均体现了相关地区在“一带一路”建设的重要性。

吉布提位于亚丁湾西岸,扼红海进入印度洋的要冲。中国在该国建立首个海外海军基地,并在当地一个战略性深水港拥有权益。

据Nantulya表示,“一带一路”将连系区内中国已规划港口基建的城市,它们分别属于苏丹、毛里求斯、塞内加尔、加纳、尼日利亚、冈比亚、几内亚、圣多美和普林西比、客麦隆、安哥拉和纳米比亚等国家。

另一条路线则连接吉布提、瓜塔达、汉班托塔、科伦坡、香港等港口城市,加上缅甸的港口,“最终画出的弧线,连接纳米比亚沃尔维斯湾港(即鲸湾港)到中国在莫桑比克、坦桑尼亚、肯尼亚等国布局的港口,然後连接到瓜塔达港”。

Nantulya称:“这些重新发展的贸易路线有助中国开辟供应链,并开创连接非洲到巴基斯坦、孟加拉、斯里兰卡和缅甸的新‘蓝色经济通道’船运航线。”

2017年,已经在非洲、亚洲和欧洲40个港口积极经营的中国国有企业宣布,计划收购(或入股)九座外国港口。这些港口全部位于中国计划开拓的新航运线,包括已经规划建深水港的圣多美和普林西比。

在非洲,“一带一路”建设的讨论,已聚焦在支持非洲基建所需。世界银行估算未来10年,该等基建需投入1,700亿美元的资金。

Nantulya补充说,非洲国家的议会、官员和其他监管机构应积极跟进与中国的谈判,以便相关官员更了解当地的需要。

Nantulya认为,“一带一路”倡议或许對非洲国家有利,但“很大程度取决于中国和非洲站在平等的地位上(合作)”,因为倡议是“中国在推动更大战略宏图中,第一个也是最重要的一个地缘政治项目”。

他总结道:“对非洲而言,挑战在于:界定自身的利益如何与中国的利益契合,以及这种合作将如何促进非洲自身发展的优先课题。” (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Mozambican, Angolan and São Tomé and Príncipe ports linked to the China Belt and Road initiative

The ports of Mozambique, Angola and São Tomé and Principe will be linked to the Chinese “´Belt and Road” initiative, which will have a “central hub” in East Africa, wrote researcher Paul Nantulya.

The researcher, in a study for the Africa Centre for Strategic Studies, said that East Africa, as “central hub” in the Chinese strategy, will be linked by “planned and/or operating ports, pipelines, railways and power stations built and financed by Chinese companies and lenders.”

The importance of the region is highlighted by the already inaugurated Mombasa-Nairobi railway, as well as the electric railway line from Addis Ababa to Djibouti, where China has established its first naval base abroad and has interests in a deepwater strategic port.

According to Nantulya, the Silk Road will connect with the planned Chinese port infrastructure in Sudan, Mauritania, Senegal, Ghana, Nigeria, Gambia, Guinea, São Tomé and Príncipe, Cameroon, Angola and Namibia.

Another route links Djibouti to Gwadar, Hambantota, Colombo, Myanmar and Hong Kong, “The final arc of this corridor connects Walvis Bay to the Chinese port clusters in Mozambique, Tanzania and Kenya before also connecting to Gwadar.”

“These revitalised trade routes help China to diversify its supply chains and create a Blue Economic Passage to connect Africa to new shipping lanes in Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Myanmar,” Nantulya said.

The researcher also wrote that the Belt and Road initiative, “also increases Beijing’s control over critical global supply chains and its ability to redirect the flow of international trade,” and that, “initiatives to open new shipping lines and expand strategic access to China’s ports around the world,” are central to those efforts.

In 2017, Chinese state-owned enterprises – already active in 40 ports in Africa, Asia and Europe – announced plans to buy or obtain stakes in nine foreign ports, all located in regions where China plans to develop new sea routes, including São Tomé and Príncipe, where a new deepwater port is planned.

In Africa, discussions on the Belt and Road have focused on supporting the continent’s infrastructure needs, which the World Bank says require US$170 billion a year over 10 years.

Nantulya added that parliaments, public officials and other supervisory bodies in African countries should actively follow up negotiations with China so that negotiators are more receptive to local demands.

The initiative, he said, may have benefits for African countries, but “much will depend on the relationship between China and Africa being placed on an equal footing,” as the Belt and Road is “first and foremost a Chinese geopolitical project to promote China’s big strategy. “

“The challenge for Africa is to define where its interests converge with those of China, where they diverge, and how areas of convergence can be shaped to advance African development priorities,” the researcher concluded. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH