预期安哥拉新总统将检讨该国经济政策

2017年09月25日

面对经济和财政困难,将于本周就职的安哥拉新任总统João Lourenço将检讨国家的经济政策,预期随后将推行重大政策转变。

据《非洲观察情报》(AMI)报道,将于9月26日宣誓就职的Lourenço在不公开的谈话中表示,愿意与国际货币基金组织(IMF)重开有关“延展信贷设施”经援安排的谈判。

AMI又报道,从总统的角度看,预期上述谈判得出的协议,将有利安国取得财政及技术援助、改善安国公共财政的透明度,从而提高安国对外信誉,打开西方国家援助的大门。

针对因国际油价持续低迷,导致国家财政和经济状况持续恶化,中国提供的经援证明非常重要,但中国对安国的贷款有放缓迹象。

由于央行持续向国内银行体系出售外汇,安哥拉的国际收支储备已达历史低位,IMF的国际收支平衡补助,异常重要。

由若干部长组成的团队正起草的《政府行动纲领》中,罗列了将于年底前(“新政府首100天”)落实的措施,而最终目标是为2018年以后的经济复苏做好准备。

根据上述《纲领》,短期内政府应采取紧缩措施,包括部长的数目较前任(多斯桑托斯)当政时期大为缩减。

Lourenço在8月23日当选以来首次接受媒体(西班牙通讯社EFE)访问中,拒绝就自己与戈尔巴乔夫(被认为葬送了苏联的苏共领袖)作比较,但愿意与中国的经验作比较。他说:“我们试试看,但是,戈尔巴乔夫?别了。邓小平?好的”

Lourenço在访问中说,为吸引外国投资者到安哥拉投资,安政府将致力改善营商环境,包括改变签证政策、改善管治、发展石油以外的多元经济基础。

Lourenço说,计划中的私有化进程将以“那些无力转亏为盈、对国库形成沉重负担的国有企业”为清理对象。

《经济学人》智库(EIU)在其最新一期有关安哥拉的报告中说,2017至2021年间,“由于国际油价仍然低迷,本地生产仅轻微上升,加上中国经济增长持续放缓”,安哥拉的经济仅会录得轻微复苏。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Review of economic policies in Angola expected as new President takes office

25 September 2017

The new President of Angola, João Lourenço, takes office this week in a difficult economic and financial context for the country, which is expected to force major changes in the country’s economic policy.

The Africa Monitor Intelligence (AMI) newsletter reported that Lourenço, who was sworn in on 26 September, has said within restricted circles that he is willing to reopen negotiations with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) regarding an “Extended Credit Facility”.

AMI also said that an agreement would allow the president to benefit from IMF financial and technical assistance, as well as improving the transparency of the country’s public finances and enhancing its external reputation by opening doors to assistance from other Western countries.

In a context of continuing economic and financial deterioration, as a result of continued low oil prices on international markets, the financial assistance provided by China has proven to be essential, but Chinese lending to Angola has been slowing.

International reserves reached historic lows, due to the sale of foreign currency by the National Bank of Angola (BNA) to the banking sector, and IMF assistance to the balance of payments is fundamental.

Among the main measures expected in a future agreement is the devaluation of the kwanza, and the IMF unavailable to support the government programme without intervention in the foreign exchange market (30% devaluation by the end of 2017 or in the first quarter of 2018).

A ministerial team is preparing a Government Action Programme, with measures to be implemented by the end of the year (“the first 100 days of governance”), with the ultimate goal of preparing the economic recovery after 2018.

The programme should, in the short term, impose austerity on a government level, which will have a much smaller number of ministers compared to the government of former president José Eduardo dos Santos.

In his first interview since the 23 August elections, in which the MPLA party secured a qualified majority, João Lourenço told Spanish news agency EFE he rejected the comparison with Mikhail Gorbachov, a Russian leader who ended Soviet communism, and opted for a Chinese comparison instead.

“We will work for this, but Gorbachev, no. Deng Xiaoping, yes,” said Lourenço.

In the interview, Lourenço said he wanted to attract more foreign investors to Angola and improve the business environment, by changing visa policy, improving governance and diversifying the economic base, beyond oil.

The planned privatisations will involve “those state companies that are dead weights for the country, which are not profitable, which are costing the state coffers a lot of money,” he said.

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) said in its latest report on Angola that economic growth in the country will recover slightly between 2017-21 “due to international oil prices and moderate increases in local production, compounded by a continuing slowdown in growth in China,” the main destination of Angolan exports. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH