莫桑比克民航市场引入新竞争规则

2018年07月09日

根据莫桑比克中央政府最近批准的法例,自下月(8月)底起,正逐步开放的莫国民航市场将引入新竞争规则。

一家南非和英国企业合组的财团“快捷”(Fastjet)去年底成为首家提供莫国国内定期航班服务的外资企业,初步开通马普托—贝拉、太特—楠普拉;两条航线。

迄今,只有国营“莫桑比克航空公司”(LAM)提供该国国内航班,但由于该公司备受管理不善、缺乏航机、没钱支付燃料费用等困扰,导致航班经常延误或临时改动。

今年5月底,根据《LegisPalop+TL的地区协调机制》,政府批准了新的《莫桑比克航空交通服务竞争规则》,将于8月28日生效。该文件确立了航空运输服务的良好竞争实践、协议或行为。

新法例旨在防止航空公司之间暗地协议直接或间接采取不当一致行动,妨害健康竞争(涵盖采购、销售或定价等商业条件),从而影响莫国空运服務的开放政策。

新例开列的其他反竞争行为包括:限制或操控市场、技术发展或投资的协议;强制加进功能或服务频度;透过分配乘客、地域或特别服务种类以划分市场或供货来源;针对其他航空公司的类近业务采用不平等的条件,置后者于不利的竞争地位。

根据《LegisPalop+TL的地区协调机制》,新例同时禁止一家或多家航空公司滥用竞争优势。

最后,新例规定同样有接受违反竞争法相关投诉职能的官方机构——“竞争监管局”——可以批准航空公司、空运营运商和相关企业透过发布公开澄清或市场调整之证明的方式,不遵守某些属违法或被禁止的要求、协议或决定。

上月(6月)初“中国-莫桑比克经济、技术和贸易合作联合委员会第六次会议”举行期间,中国政府承诺捐出约1亿美元,资助莫桑比克四个发展项目,包括加扎省Xai-Xai机场的建设。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Air transport in Mozambique has new competition rules

9 July 2018

The civil aviation sector in Mozambique, which is in the process of liberalisation, as of the end of August will have new competition rules, under legislation recently approved by the government.

Fastjet, a consortium from South Africa and the United Kingdom, last year became the first foreign-owned company to offer regular domestic passenger flights in Mozambique at the end of last year, linking the cities of Maputo and Beira, and Tete and Nampula.

So far, only state-owned Linhas Aéreas de Moçambique (LAM) has been operating domestic flights, but management problems and lack of airplanes and money to pay for fuel have caused delays and re-scheduling of flights.

At the end of May, the government approved the new Regulation on Competition in Mozambican Air Transport Services, which will enter into force on 28 August, establishing rules for good competitive practices in transport and air services, and sets out practices, agreements or conduct, which have an anti-competitive effect, according to the Regional Coordination of LegisPalop+TL.

The new legislation aims to prevent agreements between airlines and any concerted practice/cartelisation which adversely affects the liberalisation of air transport services in Mozambique and is aimed at obstruction, restriction or distortion of competition.

The decree stipulates illegal anti-competitive practices and agreements including agreements, decisions of associations between air operators and any concerted practice that directly or indirectly determines conditions of purchase or sale or any other commercial conditions, including the prices charged on the routes.

Other types of anti-competitive practices outlined are agreements that limit or control markets, technical development or investment, adding excess capacity or frequency of services, dividing markets or sources of supply, by distributing passengers, territories, or specific types of services and applying unequal conditions for similar operations with other airlines, putting them at a competitive disadvantage.

According to the Regional Coordination of LegisPalop + TL, this Regulation also prohibits the abuse of a dominant position by one or more air operators.

Finally, it provides that the Regulatory Competition Authority, which is also the competent authority for receiving complaints, may exempt companies, air operators and company associations from any specific practices, agreements or decisions which may have been considered unlawful or prohibited, by means of a clarification and proof of market adjustment to air operators and company associations operating in the air transport sector.

In June, during the 6th session of the Joint Commission between China and Mozambique, the Chinese government committed to donate about US$100 million to fund four development projects in Mozambique, including the construction of Xai-Xai airport, in Gaza province. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH