非洲设自贸区提升非洲大陆对中国工业资金的吸引力

南非“标准银行”负责中国业务的首席经济师Jeremy Stevens表示,包括葡语国家在内的“非洲大陆自由贸易区”(AfCFTA)的落实,提升了非洲大陆对中国工业投资资金的吸引力。

办事处设于北京的Stevens在最近发表的一篇文章中称:“随着非洲经济越趋一体化,将为诸如零售、电信业和银行等消费领域的企业,以及基建、资源相关行业以至整个农业相关供应链带来巨大商机。”

Stevens续说:“结果,为非洲本地和区域市场服务的工业中心将开始出现….这令企业家和投资者们跃跃欲试,而业务遍布全球的中国企业也不可能忽视。”

于2018年签署的AfCFTA协议(《基加利协议》,Kigali Agreement)形成了一个
拥有12亿人口、国内生产总值合计达25万亿美元的单一市场,容许来自54个“非洲联盟”成员国企业家和投资者(和他们的资金)在签署国之间自由流动。

目前非洲大陆内部的贸易总额仅占整体非洲内外贸易规模的13.5%。《协议》要求成员国初期取消90%的商品关税,这有望大幅增加非洲大陆内部的贸易规模。

安哥拉总统洛伦索和莫桑比克总统纽西2017年出席非洲联盟峰会时,签署了协议。

缔约国还包括赤道几内亚(签署人为总理阿苏埃)、圣多美和普林西比、佛得角(后两者均由部长级官员签署)。几内亚比绍是唯一未签署《协议》的非洲葡语国家。

Stevens还表示,非洲自然资源丰富、市场规模龐大且人口快速增长固然是很大诱因,中国劳工成本不断攀升,非洲大陆劳工成本则相对较低,也是吸引中国企业将生产线转移至非洲的重要因素。

为能与亚洲国家争奪中国工业投资资金,非洲国家必须在取消关税壁垒的同时,改善海关效率、减低官僚导致的延误、打击贪腐,并进行“基建和物流网络的重大投资”,让经济管理和经商便利方面,逐步得到改善。

Stevens认为:“尽管近年非洲与中国的贸易关系已有改善(而相信这趋势将持续),但下一波重大机遇将围绕透过私营部门对非洲工业的投资,实现工业化、创造就业机会以及技术转移。”

他说:“中国已经是非洲最大的贸易伙伴,并将继续深度介入非洲大陆经济发展的走势。事实上,几乎不能想象未来几十年会有哪一个国家或经济体可以取代中国,成为非洲最重要的贸易伙伴。”(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

African Free Trade Area increases the attractiveness of the continent for Chinese industrial investments

The implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), which includes the Portuguese-Speaking countries, enhances the attractiveness of the continent for industrial investment from China, according to Jeremy Stevens, chief economist of the South African Standard Bank responsible for China.

“As the African economies become more integrated, huge opportunities will arise for companies in consumer-facing sectors – such as retail, telecommunications and banking – and for infrastructure industries, sectors related with resources and across the agricultural value chain,” said Stevens in a recent article.

As a result, he said, “African industrial centres will begin to emerge that serve local and regional markets,” a “convincing proposal for entrepreneurs and investors and those Chinese companies with global scope will find it difficult to ignore.”

Signed in 2018, the AfCFTA establishes a single continental market that will allow the free movement of entrepreneurs and investments, covering all 54 member states of the African Union – a market of 1.2 billion people with a gross domestic product (GDP) of US$2.5 trillion.

The agreement requires member states initially to remove 90% tariffs on goods, which should significantly increase intra-African trade, which accounts for only about 13.5% of the continent’s total trade.

At the head of the signatories is Angola, which was represented at the summit in 2017 by its President, João Lourenço, and Mozambique, also represented by the head of state, Filipe Nyusi.

The signatories to the agreement also include Equatorial Guinea, through its prime minister, Francisco Obama Asue, São Tomé and Principe and Cabo Verde, represented by ministers, and Guinea-Bissau is the only Portuguese-speaking African country that has not signed the Kigali agreement

Stevens, who is based in Beijing, also said that, in addition to the size of the African market, another incentive for Chinese companies to relocate their industrial capacity is that labour costs in China are increasing.

According to the Standard Bank economist, Africa offers relatively low labour costs, an abundance of natural resources and markets and domestic populations in rapid growth.

To really compete for Chinese industrial investments, which are also focused on other parts of Asia, African countries should dismantle tariff barriers and improve the efficiency of customs processes, combating bureaucratic delays and corruption, in addition to making “big investments in physical infrastructure and logistics networks” and make incremental improvements in economic management and the ease of doing business.

“Although Africa’s trade relationship with China has improved in recent years – a trend that must continue – the next big opportunity revolves around industrialisation, creation of jobs and technology transfers through private sector investments in African industry,” said Stevens.

“China is already Africa’s largest trading partner and will remain deeply involved in the economic trajectory of the continent. In fact, it has become almost impossible to imagine any partner, other than China, as the most important trading partner in Africa in the coming decades,” he added. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH