经济规模较小葡语国家在困境中表现胜于较大经济体

诸如几内亚比绍(“几比”)和佛得角等葡语国家尽管经济体量较小,但经济活动比较多元,在2016年预期经济增长表现的研究中脱颖而出,数字较诸如安哥拉等较依赖大宗商品出口、经济体量较大的葡语国家为佳。

撒哈拉以南非洲国家(“撒南非洲”)经济增长率跌至过去20年来最低位。国际货币基金组织(IMF)10月发布的《地区经济展望》显示,几比、圣多美和普林西比(“圣普”)和佛得角在经济增长预测中,按增长率算,排位靠前。

IMF预测几比、圣普、佛得角2016年经济增长率将为4.8%、4%和3.6%。受紧缩经济政策以及政局动荡、国内不稳定等负面因素影响,预期莫桑比克的经济增长仅为4.5%、安哥拉将无增长、赤道几内亚将录得9.9%的衰退。

IMF非洲司司长在报告中称:“不少国家面临外部环境恶化,特别是大宗商品价格下跌至多年来低位,导致融资条件格外严格,而这些国家的应对措施既缓慢又零碎,形成很大的不确定性,令私人投资却步,扼杀了增长动力。”

葡萄牙银行(“葡央行”)最新发布年度报告——《葡语非洲国家及东帝汶经济发展2015-2016》——指出,预期2016年佛得角的经济活动将转趋活跃,“主要由投资(包括本应于2015年投放但因客观局势推延了的投资)及旅游领域涌现大批私人投资项目推动。”

葡央行在最近举行的葡语国家央行行长会议上发布上述报告。根据该文件,佛得角经济面对的主要风险,是外部需求或较预期低、该国今年内三场选举所蕴含的不确定性,以及国内公共财政和一般政府债务的发展。

葡央行指出,尽管2014年几比国内政治动荡带来的风险,导致国际社会(其中主要是IMF)冻结对该国的经援,情况持续至2015年,但目前情势已有改善。

“除了如此具挑战性的环境外,几比2015年的经济表现十分正面,持续着前一年已开始的复苏走势。腰果丰收(占全国出口货值的80至90%)、贸易发展条件改善,对2015年产量增加4.8%,有决定性影响。”葡央行相信向上的走势应可在2016年持续。

由于国家预算延迟批出,加上出口货值下跌,圣普2015年录得较2014年低的增长率。估计今年的复苏幅度将较原来预期的缓慢。

至于莫桑比克,在外围影响增长的因素充斥下,2016年内官方一再下调估计增长数字。葡央行的报告称:“若政府与相关企业的谈判维持胶着状态,开采液化天然气的基建项目进度将进一步推延。”

报告说:“对莫桑比克经济的主要长期风险,与大宗商品价格持续低迷,以及诸如中国等主要贸易伙伴国内部经济大幅放缓有关。这些客观情况或将拖慢能源开采领域的投资,从而拖慢莫国的经济增长。”

报告显示安哥拉将持续受低油价打击,“造成外汇短缺,影响及所有经济领域(特别是非石油领域)的艰难外部环境”。

至于葡萄牙与葡语非洲国家和东帝汶的贸易关系,报告预期较低的进口、出口量(分别为28%和27%)、在上述国家的直接投资将从2014年撤资潮前的水平恢复过来,重拾升轨。

根据官方数字,葡语非洲国家欠葡萄牙的债务持续下降,美元兑欧元的强势加剧了此跌势——以欧元签约的债务合约之美元价值相应下降。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Small economies in the Portuguese language world shine during year of hardship for larger ones

Smaller, though also more diversified: small economies of the Portuguese language world such as Guinea-Bissau and Cabo Verde have better growth prospects in 2016 than larger ones such as Angola that are more dependent on commodities.

As economic growth in sub-Saharan Africa drops to its lowest level in the last 20 years (1.4 percent), the Regional Economic Outlook for the region released in October by the International Monetary Fund indicates that Guinea-Bissau, São Tomé and Príncipe and Cabo Verde are among countries with the best growth estimates.

The IMF forecasts that the economies of Guinea-Bissau, São Tomé and Príncipe and Cabo Verde will respectively grow by 4.8 percent, 4 percent and 3.6 percent in 2016. In Mozambique, marked by austerity and uncertainty owing to the political and security situation, estimated growth is 4.5 percent, while Angola is stagnating and Equatorial Guinea should post a recession of 9.9 percent.

“The external environment facing many countries has deteriorated, notably with commodity prices at multi-year lows and financing conditions markedly tighter; also, the policy response in many countries most affected by these shocks has been slow and piecemeal, raising uncertainty, deterring private investment and stifling new sources of growth,” stated the director of the IMF’s African Department, Abebe Aemro Selassie, in comments reported by the organisation.

The most recent Bank of Portugal report on the economies of the Portuguese-speaking African countries (PALOPs) states that economic activity in Cabo Verde is expected to revive in 2016, “mainly driven by investment, with the recovery from delays in 2015 and the launch of a number of private projects in the tourism sector.”

The Bank of Portugal’s annual study on “Economic Developments in the PALOPs and Timor-Leste 2015-2016” was recently presented during the annual meeting of heads of central banks of the Portuguese language countries. It indicates that the main risks for the Cabo Verdean economy are the possibility of lower-than-expected external demand performance, along with uncertainty stemming from the country’s three elections this year and developments in public finances and general government debt.

For Guinea-Bissau the Bank of Portugal notes improved conditions, a process begun in 2014 and maintained in 2015, despite significant risks associated to political uncertainty in the country, which has prevented access to some support promised by the international community, namely by the IMF.

“Despite this challenging environment, Guinea-Bissau’s economic performance in 2015 was very positive, giving continuity to the recovery that started in the previous year. The good cashew nut harvest – accounting for 80 to 90 percent of goods exports – and favourable terms of trade developments were decisive for the 4.8 percent increase in output in 2015,” which should continue in 2016, the Bank of Portugal affirms.

In 2015 São Tomé and Príncipe recorded slightly slower growth compared to the previous year, basically due to late approval of the budget and falling exports. This year’s expected recovery been weaker than expected.

Current official estimates for Mozambique have been successively lowered, in an environment marked by more risks affecting growth in 2016, associated to “further delays in the construction of infrastructures to exploit liquefied natural gas if there continues to be a stalemate in negotiations between the government and involved companies,” the Bank of Portugal report states.

“The main long-term risks to the Mozambican economy are associated to persistently low commodity prices and a significant slowdown in relevant partners such as China. These developments may delay investments in energy exploration, thereby affecting Mozambique’s growth potential,” it adds.

The report indicates that Angola will continue to suffer the impact of low oil prices, which has created a “challenging external environment felt across all economic sectors, most notably in the non-oil sector, largely due to a foreign currency shortage.”

Regarding Portugal’s trade relations with the PALOPs and Timor-Leste, the report notes lower exports and imports, down 27 percent and 28 percent respectively, while Portuguese direct investment in those countries was again positive in the wake of disinvestment observed in 2014

The PALOPs official debt to Portugal continued to decline, intensified by the stronger dollar against the euro, thereby lowering dollar values of credit contracted in the European currency. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH