中国支持安哥拉经济多元化 列两国联席工作组议程

2016年06月20日

安哥拉经济多元发展——安政府的重要政策目标——将获中国大力支持,两国为此成立联席工作组,探讨相关具体措施。

据安哥拉通讯社称,自2014年国际油价急跌,安哥拉即面对财政困局,急需增加国民经济中的非油比重。在此背景下,涵盖多个经济领域的安中联席工作组6月13日在北京碰头,就两国合作进行磋商。

安哥拉国务秘书(外交及国际合作)Angela Braganca称,会议主要为“经贸合作委员会”第二轮会议以及两国双边商务论坛作准备。后者“即将”在安国首都罗安达举行。她重申,中国是安哥拉其中一个战略伙伴。

筹备工作包括讨论一系列法律文件。该等文件也将在罗安达一次检查中非合作峰会(2015年在约翰内斯堡举行)决议落实情况的工作会议上讨论。

上述决议包括旨在促成更紧密经贸关系的财政合作和其他措施。非洲方面一项主要的利益,是能具体产生收入的产能投资,以及接收转移自中国的技术。

据安哥拉通讯社报道,在为安哥拉考虑的特别工具中,有相互促进和保护投资、引入互免签证安排,以及在劳工和文化层面落实一系列协议。

目前,无论是进口或出口,中国均是安哥拉最大贸易伙伴,同时,安哥拉也是非洲国家中,中国最大的石油供应国。

中安关系研究员Lucy Corkin估计,中国已向安哥拉提供了145亿美元贷款,但其他研究指向接近200亿的水平,其中大部分以石油供应作担保。

据《经济学人》智库(EIU)称,目前安国政府仍将依赖中国提供贷款,以“维持所有必不可少的投资项目,例如兴建公路和发电厂”。

EIU在最新有关安哥拉的报告中称:“中国仍将是极重要的伙伴,以至一旦中国经历经济放缓,即有严重影响安国经济的可能。”

EIU称,即使安哥拉与国际货币基金组织(IMF)的资助谈判(始自4月)最终谈拢,中国的贷款仍然重要。后者意味着将有额外高达45亿美元的资金来源,有力振兴该国经济的信心。

事实上,《非洲观察情报》(AMI)认为,安国与IMF的多次谈判(上周结束)显示,对于获取IMF经援,(莫)“当局现在倾向推迟,甚或暂不正式签约”——安哥拉代表团表现出不急于取得资助。

接受IMF的援助,意味着安国政府要考虑IMF有关引入新税种、裁减政府人员、改变石油税收的管理等要求。

基于石油期货市场的趋势,预期现货市场即将走高,AMI认为,安哥拉是采取静观其变的策略。

国际油价在今年初跌至谷底的每桶30美元后,已逐步回升至目前的每桶超过50美元——尽管仍远低于2014年前的每桶90-100美元(一般认为,当时的高价位已一去不返)。(macauhub/AO/CN)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Support from China for diversification of Angola’s economy on agenda of mixed commission

20 June 2016

The diversification of Angola’s economy, which is a major priority for the country’s authorities, will have the support of China and some support instruments will be analysed “very soon” at the mixed commission between the two countries.

The country is facing difficulties as a result of the drop, since 2014, in the price of oil, which made it more urgent to boost the weight of the non-oil sector. As a result of this on 13 June Angola and China discussed economic cooperation at a meeting between multi-sector delegations in Beijing, according to Angolan news agency Angop.

The meeting mainly served to prepare the second session of the Commission for Economic and Commercial Cooperation, along with the bilateral Business Forum, which will take place “very soon” in the Angolan capital, according to the Angolan secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Angela Braganca, who reiterated that China is one of Angola’s strategic partners.

Preparation involved presenting and discussing a number of legal documents and instruments, which are up for further discussion in Luanda at a meeting to supervise the execution of the plans to boost China-Africa cooperation, announced at the Johannesburg summit in 2015.

These include a boost to financial cooperation and other measures to make economic and trade ties closer. One of the main interests of the African side is productive investments that generate revenues, as well as transfer of Chinese technology.

Among the specific instruments considered for Angola, according to Angop, is the reciprocal promotion and protection of investments, introduction of facilities to visa concessions and execution of agreements on a labour and cultural level.

China is currently Angola’s largest trading partner, both in terms of imports and exports and Angola is China’s largest source of oil in Africa.

China-Angola relations researcher Lucy Corkin has estimated loans provided by China to Angola to total US$14.5 billion, but other estimates point to figures closer to US$20 billion, mostly guaranteed with oil.

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) said that, in the current context, the Angolan government will continue to seek loans from China, to “maintain very necessary investment programmes – to build roads and power plants, for example.”

“China will remain a highly important partner – up to the point when a substantial slowdown in Chinese growth represents serious negative risks,” said the EIU in its latest report on Angola.

The Chinese credit, the EIU said, would be important even if Angola signs up to an IMF programme, which has been under negotiation since April. This could represent additional support of up to US$4.5 billion and boost confidence in the country’s economy.

In fact, the round of talks with the IMF ended last week showed, according to the Africa Monitor Intelligence, that “the authorities are now inclined to delay or prevent a formal agreement” with a view to obtaining financial aid from the IMF.

The Angolan delegation showed it was in no hurry to be granted the financial aid, which implies policy negotiations with the IMF, which may include introduction of new taxes, lay off in public administration and changes to management of oil revenues.

Oil prices are now expected to start rising, as shown by the futures market and, according to Africa Monitor Intelligence Angola’s reticence is considered to be affecting the possibility of a clearer understanding of that trend.

After bottoming out at US$30 per barrel at the beginning of the year, oil prices are now at over US$50 per barrel, despite remaining far from the high of US$90-100 before 2014. These record highs are now generally considered to be an impossibility. (macauhub/AO/CN)